Here is some information on making payments. If your questions are not answered here, call 928-341-8595 for additional information.
When are payments due?
1.) Payment is due on or before the appearance date on a ticket which contains only civil traffic charges, unless a hearing is requested or an extension is authorized by the Court.
2.) At the time a judge imposes a fine;
3.) When ordered by the Court to pay;
4.) Payment for "Parking Offenses" is prescribed by the San Luis City Code.
When payment is not made in full at the time the fine is imposed, State Statute requires that a $20 Time Payment Fee be added to the amount due.
Payments can be made:
1.) By mail using a check or money order. Provide your full name, date of birth, social security number, and your ticket and/or docket number. A copy of your ticket or paper from the court which contains your docket number will help ensure your payment is applied to the appropriate case. DO NOT SEND CASH IN THE MAIL.
2.) In person using cash, check, money order, MasterCard, VISA, Discover, American Express. The court accepts payments in person Monday through Thursday from 7:00AM to 6:00 PM except on holidays.
There is a 24-hour drop box located on the wall by the entrance to the court. Checks and money orders may be deposited there with your full name, date of birth, social security number, and your ticket and/or docket number. A copy of your ticket or paper from the court which contains your docket number will help ensure your payment is applied to the appropriate case. DO NOT PLACE CASH IN THE DROP BOX.
(The drop box is located outside by the court's main entrance. As you face the front of the court building, go to the right side (east) of the doors)
What if I can’t make a payment on time?
You must contact the Court. In certain situations an extension may be granted by telephone.
When you are unable to pay the amount due and an extension cannot be granted over the telephone, you will need to complete a financial statement form and bring it to the Collections Division of the Court.
1.) Collection Division staff will review the financial information
2.) Collection Division staff may retrieve and review a report from the credit bureau;
3.) An appearance before a judge may be required to review your request. It is suggested that you are at court prior to 3:30PM to allow adequate time to complete the financial review process.
4.) You may call the Collection Division at 928-341-8595 if you have questions.
What happens if I forget to pay?
When payments are not made on time, the Court may do one or more of the following:
1.) Add a $20 default fee to the amount due as prescribed by administrative order;
2.) Issue a warrant for your arrest;
3.) Notify the Motor Vehicle Division of the failure to pay which may result in a suspension of your Driver License;
4.) Notify the Credit Bureau of the failure to pay which will affect your credit rating;
5.) Refer the amount due to a Collection Agency which will result in additional fees you will have to pay;
6.) Notify the Arizona Department of Revenue to deduct the amount due the Court from your state tax refund, and pay the balance of the refund, if any, to you.
Money has been deducted from my state tax return, now what?
If you receive notification from the Arizona Department of Revenue that money has been deducted from your tax refund to satisfy a debt owed to the Court, you should contact the Court to determine whether the fine is paid in full and make arrangements for paying the balance, if there is one.
Why is the Court listed as a creditor on my credit bureau report?
When a fine is not paid as ordered, the Court notifies the Credit Bureau of the delinquency. This information is included on your credit report and is available to lenders when you attempt to obtain a loan for the purchase of a car, home, etc. If you believe the Court should not be listed as a creditor on your report, you may file a consumer dispute with the Credit Bureau.
Why did a Collection Agency contact me?
When a fine is not paid as ordered, the Court notifies the Collection Agency to pursue collection of the fine. Once the Collection Agency begins collection efforts, there will be additional fees you will need to pay.
Am I eligible for Community Restitution?
Community Restitution is an alternative method for paying a fine when it is determined to be appropriate as a result of the financial evaluation. One hour of Community Restitution satisfies $10 of the fine. The Community Restitution alternative is offered by the judge at the time the fine is imposed, at the time that payment arrangements are established, or upon subsequent review of the payment arrangements. Community Restitution may be offered under certain circumstances as a means of satisfying the whole fine amount or to satisfy part of the fine.
How do I contact the Collections Division?
The Collections Division of the Court is open Monday through Thursday 8:00AM to 5:00PM except holidays. You can call the Collections Division at 928-341-8595 or come to the Court Building. The Collections Division is located on the first floor at the northeast side of the building. You do not need to take a number in the court lobby; follow the signs to the Collections Division and speak to a staff member at the collections check in window 24.